Why I Quit Hollywood

REALITY BLOG

I realize now that I was guilty of exactly what I blame people for today.

Cognitive Dissonance…

It was a constant mental battle with my ego; an effort to compensate for those scraps of carnal knowledge, like many uncomfortable splinters incrementally digging deeper into my skin, that told me what I was working on and therefore condoning as “just a job” was morally and ethically wrong. 

 You see, I was a professional Hollywood sound designer – the guy who made war scenes and civil war reenactments sound so incredibly real. I was the guy who used “foley” recordings of squeezed fruit and veggies to produce realistic blood and guts for total aural stimulation in the entertainment experience. I was the guy who made monsters and dragons come to life, designing the roars and squeals that hopefully made the audience recoil with excitement; accepting for just that brief interactive experience the death and dismemberment, murder and rape, torture and sadism that goes…

View original post 1,596 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

